Let’s be real…. pregnant. {Part two}

The first few weeks were similar to when I was pregnant with Hank. I found out super early because… well… I must confess I am a POAS (pee on a stick) FANATIC. Every day I watched the line get darker and darker. I never actually spent the money on a digital to see the words “pregnant”. I knew that I was but those cheapies from Amazon leave you guilt free with your obsession.  The first one I took I had Dave come look and he squinted and I assured him it was positive. I sent this first one to my friends. 


Do you see it? Do your eyes hurt now? It’s there. Ha! 

I won’t tell you how many I continued to take and it was a little bittersweet finally tossing them in the trash. 

Symptoms: Waves of exhaustion and nausea were symptoms of relief as I progressed and thankfully those symptoms were pretty mild. Sense of smell is sensitive especially to perfumes, colognes, and peoples hair. : )


Cravings: I noticed a trend of salsa and anything with tomato in it being super satisfying. 

Now: After stuffing my face with junk food for a couple weeks, I started feeling up to eating healthier foods and being brave with a little caffeine in the mornings. I love coffee, but at first it wasn’t appealing to me.  

I had the best of intentions to have one of those “fit” pregnancy’s as eating fairly healthy and working out were a part of my pre-pregnant life. I say fairly because I’m more of an everything in moderation kind of girl.  I don’t deprive myself of something if I want it. While being pregnant, Chick-fil-A, Starbucks, Zaxby’s, and McDonalds hot fudge sundaes call my name on the regular. I’m enjoying being pregnant and indulging here and there and I’m totally content being a little chubby preggo. Being pregnant the first time and now, I feel the most comfortable in my own skin. Weight gain and all. 


At almost 20 weeks,  I’m hitting the meal prep train again for Dave and I. I really don’t want to gain a ridiculous amount of weight for my size and I know I’d have more energy if I would just switch off this junk food fest. Party is over. I’ll make a few meals for Hank and keep some of his favorite snacks stocked because my once veggie loving toddler won’t even touch them. Going to have to get creative and disguise them. 

We are so excited to be less than a week away from seeing our peanut on the ultrasound and finding out the gender! Dave would love to have another boy, I would love to have a girl, but all in all I just can’t wait to have another sweet baby. Either way we are extremely blessed and I’ll be sure to soak it up more knowing how quickly those hard seasons pass by. 

I’ve been using a couple of apps that I really enjoy to follow along with baby’s progress. It’s amazing how much you forget about pregnancy once you’ve had child #1. 

The tried and true, What To Expect app is more traditional and has great little videos. My favorite is Ovia Pregnancy. You can customize the setting on what to compare your baby’s size to. Mine is set on games and toys and here is my 19 week image:


How fun is that! I also love the hand and foot comparison. Check it out: 


This app is more modern and gives the Momma a lot more information regarding how she feels and what to expect. Great resource!

Leave a comment